Consultant Oesophago-Gastric (OG) Surgeon

1 day left

Location
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Salary
£77,913 - £105,042
Posted
08 Jul 2019
Closes
25 Jul 2019
Ref
236-STM-CON17-2019
Sector
Hospital
Specialty
General surgery
Career Level
Consultant
Contract Type
Permanent
Hours
Full Time

Consultant Oesophago-Gastric (OG) Surgeon (Cancer and Complex Benign Disease)

An opportunity has arisen for the appointment of a Consultant Oesophago-Gastric (OG) Surgeon (Cancer and Complex Benign Disease).  You will join an established team of 8 OG surgeons working within the recently centralised Great Manchester OG Service (GMOGS).

Greater Manchester Oesophago-Gastric Service: The GMOGS based at Salford Royal was established in September 2018 and provides the surgical management of malignant and complex benign OG disease for the region’s 3.5 million population. In partnership with our oncology colleagues at The Christie, the service is now the largest of its kind in the United Kingdom, and one of the largest in Europe.

The surgical unit undertakes approximately 160 oesophago-gastric cancer resections annually (in addition to resections for GISTs and benign disease). Furthermore, SRFT is the tertiary referral centre for complex benign surgery (including revisional anti-reflux surgery, giant hiatus hernia, achalasia).

The service has 8 Clinical Nurse Specialists, and a full complement of dedicated OG allied specialists. You will work closely with a team of OG anaesthetists and intensivists to deliver the highest quality of peri-operative care supported by a regionally established ‘prehabilitation’ programme and locally developed enhanced recovery pathways.

Non-Elective Service: GMOGS delivers the surgical management of all specialist OG emergency work for the region. This is the largest specialist OG emergency service in the country and particular emphasis is placed on a consultant-led and delivered approach. You will be expected to participate in a dedicated OG on-call rota and be able to manage conditions including perforated oesophagus, incarcerated hiatus hernia and post-operative complications requiring further surgical interventions.

Research: The Surgical Unit is actively engaged in a regional cross-specialty research group and works to ensure that patients have access to the latest clinical trials. The surgical unit has a dedicated full-time OG research nurse with a further imminent addition in the next month. Individuals are encouraged to develop their own research interests and the Unit currently has a consultant surgeon part-funded by the NIHR. The successful candidate will, alongside their colleagues and the ‘research lead’, support the expansion of the Unit’s research portfolio. SRFT has strong links with the region’s three Universities providing ample opportunity for research development in all areas.

In line with the Trust’s Single Equality Scheme we welcome applications from everyone irrespective of ethnic origin, disability, age, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, disability, nationality, religion, marital status, social back ground or trade union membership. However, as members of ethnicity minority groups and individuals with disabilities are currently under-represented at this level of post, we would encourage applications from members of these groups.  Appointment will be based on merit alone.

For further details/informal visits contact: Mr Khurshid Akhtar khurshid.akhtar@srft.nhs.uk Mr Jonathan Vickers jonathan.vickers@srft.nhs.uk Mr Alan Li alan.li@srft.nhs.uk Mr Ram Chaparala ram.chaparala@srft.nhs.uk Miss Naheed Farooq naheed.farooq@srft.nhs.uk Mr Javed Sultan javed.sultan@srft.nhs.uk Mr Bilal Alkhaffaf bilal.alkhaffaf@srft.nhs.uk or Miss Kirsty Macdonald, Senior Manager - Surgery (kirsty.macdonald@srft.nhs.uk) 0161 206 1347

To apply please click the apply button.

Closing date: 25th July 2019